2013 Presidents Cup State Champions

G96 champions

SLO SC STORM U16 Girls win 2013 Sports Authority & Cal South State Cup Championship, Sunday April 28, in San Bernardino, CA.

San Luis Obispo Soccer Club STORM G96 U16 were crowned champions of the 2013 President’s State Cup held in San Bernardino, CA. The STORM girls traveled three consecutive weekends in April prior to defeating West Coast FC 4-0 in the Championship Game on Sunday April 28. It was the second Cal South State Cup Championship for G96, in the past four years, as the STORMers previously took home the cup in 2010.

SLO STORM played themselves into the final match by beating Legends FC and Strikers SC in hard fought knockout rounds. Samantha Fernandez (Mission Prep HS) and Tournament MVP, had the winning goal on a dramatic volley from twenty yards out… with one minute remaining in the semi final to beat Strikers SC 2-1. Fernandez also scored the eventual championship game winning goal… in the same dramatic fashion.

The goals were set up from great individual runs by teammates Sydney Knauer (San Luis Obispo HS) and Courtney Elterman (Templeton HS) respectively. Fernandez, Knauer and Elterman’s heroics were part of a total team effort that secured the prestigious champions cup. West Coast FC had not allowed a single goal throughout the knockout rounds, prior to the championship match.

SLO STORM G96 now hold a 20-2-0 overall record in three Cal South State Cups, and will next travel to the Far West Regionals to compete against state champions from Nevada, Utah and Colorado… in the opening rounds, June 11-16 in Boise, Idaho.

The G96 STORMers… coached by SLOSC (Director of Coaching) Bob Galarneau and assisted by Bernardo Silva are: Fernandez, Elterman, Knauer, Cassidy Block, Lexi Johnson, Chenin Dotson, Mara Basich-Pease, Lauren Hutkin, Sierra Nunes, Nora Zakaria & Lily McCann (SLOHS) Emilee Brown & Mic Mott (Paso Robles HS) Andrea Zachrich, Rocio Romero & Kiana Parker (Arroyo Grande HS) Devan Matthews (New Tech HS) Madison Morley & Victoria Gill (Mission Prep) and Maia Mumford & (Guest Goalkeeper) Emily Johnson (Atascadero HS).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *